2017 Teacher of the Year

Kelli Falls

Kelli Falls has been teaching vocal music for over twenty years.  She currently teaches middle school choirs and a leadership class at Parker Middle School in Howell, Michigan.  Kelli has had the opportunity to have many experiences in her life: performing, directing, conducting, teaching, and leading.  She has mentored over twenty-five student teachers and loves inspiring others to become outstanding choral directors!  Kelli has given time, service, and leadership to both MSVMA and ACDA.  She is currently serving as the co-district manager for MSVMA District Four. She has directed two State Honors Choirs, many District Honors Choirs, and has presented at numerous conferences and clinics across the state of Michigan.  She has worked at Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp as a director of summer camp choirs and as International Choir Director in some capacity since 2001.  Kelli currently conducts the Livingston County Chorale and the Hartland Community Chorus Messiah Choir. She is thankful for the support, leadership, and friendship that choir directors in this state offer to her.  Kelli loves music and her passion is teaching. She believes that in order to educate, you must first inspire.  She is very thankful for her supportive and wonderful husband, parents, and brother!

Her senator is Joe Hune


Her Superintendent is Mr. Erin MacGregor


Teacher of the Year
The MSVMA membership annually honors one of its own with recognition as Teacher of the Year. Nominations are made at spring District meetings, forwarded to the past president for placement on a preliminary ballot for consideration. Following preliminary voting, a final ballot is sent to the membership for voting. 

Teacher of the Year nominees must:

  • Be an MSVMA member

  • Have taught a minimum of 15 years, at least 10 of which are on the secondary level in Michigan

  • Have demonstrated consistent excellence in performance

  • Have been influential in creating a love and understanding of music for the masses

  • The Teacher of the Year is announced at the Michigan Music Conference and finalists are asked to attend

2017 Emeritus 

MSVMA Emeritus Status

The Emeritus Membership Program honors retired MSVMA members whose lives have been devoted to the enhancement of choral music in secondary schools. Nominations are made at spring District meetings and submitted to the MSVMA past president by June 1 for Executive Board review. A one-time nomination fee of $100 per candidate is paid by the District. 

Lifetime membership in MSVMA is granted to recipients of Member Emeritus status. Members Emeritus may not serve as officers.

Candidates for emeritus status have:

  • Taught vocal music or been actively involved with a choral music program for twenty-five or more years.
  • May have spent part of his/her career as a supervisor, coordinator, chairman or director of a school music program which includes choral music.
  • Demonstrated significant service to MSVMA.
  • Spent part of their careers in Michigan and with credit given for choral teaching or supervising and active vocal music organization membership in other states.

Exceptions regarding teaching and/or length of tenure may be considered by the Executive Board.

Teachers of the Year
2017 Kelli Falls

2016 Rebecca Scofield
2015 Pamela Pierson 
2014 Steve Hinz and Russ Larimer
2013 Todd Schreiber
2012 Rodney Bushey
2011 James Borst
2010 Robert Cindric
2009 Norma Freeman
2008 Bruce Snyder
2007 Richard Ingram
2006 Cheryl Gapinski
2005 Catherine Brodie and Wendee Wolf-Schlarf
2004 Robert Oster
2003 Mark Webb
2002 Gregory Cleveland
2001 Nina Scott
2000 Leslie Rowsey
1999 Robert A. Martin
1998 Virginia Anderson-Kerwin
1997 Susan Catanese
1996 Frank DeWald and Robert Sabourin
1995 Shirley Lemon
1994 Thomas Stokes
1993 Wendy Lake and Nancy Lange
1992 Nancy Bray
1991 Larry Wolf
1990 Brazeal Dennard
1989 John Tyner
1988 David Jorlett
1987 Howard Rizner
1986 Marvin Ritsema
1985 Donald Scott
1984 Helmut "Fritz" Petrich
1983 Roger Dehn
1982 John Bright
1981 Lowell Everson and James Mahoney
1980 Dorotha Schuler
1979 Jerry Smith
1978 Guy "Skip" Frizzell
1977 James Leonard
1976 Andy Zerban
1975 John Tousley
1974 Robert Ballard
1973 Eugene Dyer
1972 Eleanor Balaam
1971 John Elwell
1970 Gerald Gilbert
1969 Alfred "Giff" Richards
1968 Kenneth Jewell

Reaching for the Stars Award

Wendy L. Treacher

Paul Heidemann

Robert Cindric

As innovative leaders in vocal music education, we provide experiences to inspire our diverse community.
Our vision is to reach the hearts of all people through song.

The MSVMA Offices are located in the Timme Building on the campus of Ferris State University, Big Rapids, Michigan.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software